Experimenting with Shutter Speed – Transport and People

As we learnt about shutter speed and it’s effects in the session last Wednesday, I decided I would go out and put it into practice. I set a long shutter speed of 0″5, which gave me just enough time to capture just the right amount of movement whilst not overexposing the photos. I also didn’t use a tripod which was foolish, and in future I’ll try to use one as I used my knee instead as a makeshift rest which led to some shaky photos. I really like the effect in some of these photos, such as the one with the bus and the people crossing the road, and hopefully I can use it in some future photographs. I also now have a much better understanding of how shutter speed works in conjunction with aperture and ISO, the other two things we have learnt about. Hopefully practicing things like this will make me a better photographer and make my final portrait and landscape photographs as good as they can be.

Leave a comment